EVERYTHING BECOMES NEWS EVENTUALLY (opinion)

_______________________________________________________

THE CHANGING OF THE MIND AND HEART

My ancestors came to this country seeking religious freedom.  Many died to establish and protect that freedom.

In America it’s very common to change one’s mind on religion.  There’s nothing wrong with that.  It’s part of our culture.

I resigned from the Catholic church.  I felt I could not in conscience perform the responsibilities the church expects of its members.  My resignation was accepted by the local bishop, from whom I received this letter:

Note that the bishop says: “I respect your decision.”

This letter is part of the “Bona Fide” column below.

 

[Photo is of my sister Mary Beth which I took in Wheaton, Illinois.]

~ by Jeffrey Thomas Chipman on June 30, 2017.